James Baldwin works released as eBooks

Misani | 9/26/2013, 11:54 a.m.
James Baldwin’s major novels, plays and nonfiction were recently published as eBooks by Vintage Books on Tuesday, Sept. 17.
James Baldwin

James Baldwin’s major novels, plays and nonfiction were recently published as eBooks by Vintage Books on Tuesday, Sept. 17. The highly praised “Go Tell It On the Mountain,” “Giovanni’s Room” and “The Fire Next Time” and 10 other major books by the esteemed author are now available to readers in a digital format.

In addition, Vintage Books, founded in 1954 by Alfred A. Knopf as a trade paperback home to its authors, also reissued on Sept. 17 trade paperback editions of two Baldwin novels: “Go Tell It On the Mountain,” which Knopf originally published in 1953, and “Giovanni’s Room,” published in 1956.

The published James Baldwin eBooks are:

  • “No Name in the Street”
  • “If Beale Street Could Talk”
  • “The Devil Finds Work”
  • “The Amen Corner”
  • “Tell Me How Long the Train’s Been Gone”
  • “Another Country.”

The list also includes:

  • “The Fire Next Time”
  • “Nobody Knows My Name”
  • “Blues for Mister Charlie”
  • “Going to Meet the Man”
  • “One Day When I Was Lost”
  • “Go Tell It On the Mountain”
  • “Giovanni’s Room.”


James Baldwin's Giovanni's Room


James Baldwin's Go tell it on the Mountain

The price for each of the eBooks is $9.99; the “Go Tell It On the Mountain” trade paperback is $15 and the “Giovanni’s Room” trade paperback is $14.

Born on Aug. 2, 1924, Baldwin was educated in New York City. His first novel, “Go Tell It On the Mountain” received excellent reviews and was instantly recognized as “establishing a profound and permanent new voice in American letters.” Commenting on the book, he remarked: “‘Mount ain’ is the book I had to write if I ever was going to write anything else.”

Baldwin’s play “The Amen Corner” was first performed at Howard University in 1955, and was staged commercially in the 1960s. His prestigious collection of essays, “Notes of a Native Son,” was published in 1960, and his second collection of essays, “Nobody Knows My Name,” was published in 1961. “Giovanni’s Room” was published in 1956, and “Another Country” was published in 1961. “The Fire Next Time,” which was published in1963, became a national bestseller.

His 1964 play, “Blues for Mister Charlie,” was produced by the Actors Studio in New York. That year, Baldwin was also made a member of the National Institute of Arts and Letters and collaborated with photographer Richard Avedon on a series of portraits of America. His collection of short stories, “Going to Meet the Man,” was published in 1965, and in 1968, “Tell Me How Long the Train’s Been Gone” was published.

During the 1970s, Baldwin wrote two more collections of essays and cultural criticisms: “No Name in the Street” (1972) and “The Devil Finds Work” (1976). He also produced two novels, the bestselling “If Beale Street Could Talk” (1974) and “Just Above My Head (1979), and the children’s book “Little Man, Little Man: A Story of Childhood” (1976). He also collaborated with Margaret Mead on “A Rap on Race” (1971) and with Nikki Giovanni on “A Dialogue” (1973). In addition, Baldwin adapted Alex Haley’s “The Autobiography of Malcolm X” into “One Day When I Was Lost.”

Other works by Baldwin include: “Jimmy’s Blues” (1983), a volume of poetry, and “The Price of the Ticket,” his final collection of essays, and his last work, “The Evidence of Things Not Seen” (1985).

He was named Commander of the Legion of Honor and was granted the Eugene F. Saxon Memorial Trust Award, a Rosenwald Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Partisan Review Fellowship and a Ford Foundation Frant. Baldwin died in St.-Paul-de-Vence, France, on Dec. 1, 1987.