NAACP announces new national board members

2/28/2017, 5:07 p.m.
The NAACP announced the six newest members to its 64-member National Board of Directors.

The NAACP announced the six newest members to its 64-member National Board of Directors. Elected during the Association’s recent annual board meeting in New York, the group includes a variety of leaders with a diversity of religious backgrounds and extensive experience as community builders, activists and stalwarts of civil rights.

“We believe the recent additions to the National Board of Directors only expand the effectiveness and reach of the NAACP to continue to ensure that the hard-won protections for civil rights do not become a thing of the past,” said new board Chairman Leon W. Russell. Mr. Russell, who previously served as Vice Chairman of the Board was elected Chairman at that same meeting. Roslyn M. Brock, who was elected to a new three year term on the Board, was unanimously named Chairman Emeritus after declining to run for reelection as Chairman. Mrs. Brock guided the organization, as Chair for seven years. Board member Derrick Johnson, President of the Mississippi State NAACP was elected to serve as Vice Chairman.

The NAACP Board of Directors is responsible for guiding the organization, establishing public policies which maintain consistency and purpose for its over 2,200 branches within the United States and abroad.

“Those accomplished individuals elected to join our prestigious board are now partners to a historic legacy of positive social change, civic engagement and activism,” said NAACP President and CEO Cornell William Brooks. “These new board members bring an amazing wealth of achievement, accomplishment and influence on issues from civil rights to religion to community-building and leadership. We are honored by their presence and welcome them into the inner family of the nation’s oldest, largest and boldest civil rights organization.”

The new board members include:

Akosua Ali: Mrs. Akosua Ali is the President of the NAACP Washington, DC Branch and one of the youngest Presidents of an NAACP Branch throughout the nation. She works to ensure political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate racial discrimination. She leads the implementation of programs administered by 20 standing committees, including Climate, Criminal Justice, Economic, Education, Finance, Fundraising, Health, Housing, International Affairs, Labor, Legal Redress, Membership, Political Action, Public Relations, Religious Affairs, Veteran Affairs, Women in NAACP (WIN), Young Adults, Youth Works, and the Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics (ACT-SO). President Ali has led the NAACP in processing over 300 discrimination complaints, since 2010.

Rev. Wendell Anthony: Reverend Wendell Anthony is a certified social worker with the state of Michigan. He became pastor of Fellowship Chapel in December of 1986 following the passing of Rev. James E. Wadsworth Jr. and was installed as Senior Pastor in February of 1987. Reverend Anthony is currently serving his 11th term as President of the Detroit Branch NAACP, the largest unit in the nation. Currently he serves as a member of the Board of Trustees for the General Retirement System for the city of Detroit, a $3 billion dollar pension fund. Rev. Anthony is also on the Board of Directors for First Independence Bank. He is the founder of the Fannie Lou Hamer Political Action Committee, a grassroots community activist organization supporting issues and candidates both locally and nationally.