Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito and elected officials commend National Puerto Rican Day Parade Board for recognition of Oscar López Rivera

6/1/2017, 3:38 p.m.
May 22, 2017, Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito and 35 elected officials released a letter to the National Puerto Rican Day Parade ...
57th annual Puerto Rican Day Parade

May 22, 2017, Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito and 35 elected officials released a letter to the National Puerto Rican Day Parade Board commending them for their resolve and support of Puerto Rican nationalist Oscar López Rivera. López Rivera is one of dozens of individuals being honored at the 60th Annual Puerto Rican Day Parade. The Puerto Rican Day Parade has been a landmark event for decades, acting as a symbol of the meaningful role the Puerto Rican community has played in New York City history.

Full text of the letter below:

Dear National Puerto Rican Day Parade Board,

We commend you for recognizing that Oscar López Rivera represents the voice, tenacity and resolve of Puerto Rico and its people. As countless families continue to struggle in Puerto Rico’s current fiscal crisis, Oscar is a reminder of the hope that has always anchored the Island—and that’s why we fully stand behind your efforts to honor him during this year’s 60th National Puerto Rican Day parade. Oscar’s presence will lift people’s spirits and bring attention to the challenges that must be immediately addressed on the Island.

As you know, June 11 is a day to come together as a community, and we are highly disappointed that one of the parade’s main sponsors has backed out of supporting this longstanding tradition, which as its primary purpose has celebrated the advances and contributions of the Puerto Rican community. We march to honor our history and uplift our people—a message all of the parade’s sponsors should take to heart.

We stand in solidarity with Oscar and express our full support for the Board’s decision to recognize and uplift the legacy of Oscar López Rivera.


NYC Council Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito

NYS Senator Marisol Alcantara

NYS Senator Gustavo Rivera

NYS Assembly Member Marcos Crespo

NYS Assembly Member José Rivera

NYC Council Member Inez Barron

NYC Council Member Fernando Cabrera

NYC Council Member Margaret Chin

NYC Council Member Costa Constantinides

NYC Council Member Laurie Cumbo

NYC Council Member Daniel Dromm

NYC Council Member Rafael Espinal

NYC Council Member Julissa Ferreras-Copeland

NYC Council Member Vanessa Gibson

NYC Council Member Ben Kallos

NYC Council Member Andrew King

NYC Council Member Peter Koo

NYC Council Member Brad Lander

NYC Council Member Stephen Levin

NYC Council Member Mark Levine

NYC Council Member Alan Maisel

NYC Council Member Carlos Menchaca

NYC Council Member Rosie Mendez

NYC Council Member I. Daneek Miller

NYC Council Member Annabel Palma

NYC Council Member Bill Perkins

NYC Council Member Antonio Reynoso

NYC Council Member Donovan Richards

NYC Council Member Ydanis Rodriguez

NYC Council Member Helen Rosenthal

NYC Council Member Rafael Salamanca

NYC Council Member Ritchie Torres

NYC Council Member Jumaane Williams

NYC Council Member Corey Johnson