2017 TCS New York City Marathon Results

VINCENT DAVIS | 11/6/2017, 6:02 p.m.
For the first time in 41 years, an American woman has won the New York City Marathon. Shalane Flanagan came ...
Mary Keitany Photo by Bill Moore

For the first time in 41 years, an American woman has won the New York City Marathon. Shalane Flanagan came in first place, running the race in2 hours, 26 minutes and 53 seconds dethroning the three-time defending champion, Mary Keitany of Kenya, probably the most feared runner in this year's race. Keitany placed second, 59 seconds behind Flanagan.

"I knew that it was possible," said Flanagan. "I believe amazing things can happen. My coaches told me that it was possible. The training that I put inwas the best I've ever had. They made me believe that today it could happen if I just ran a tactically sound race."

The New York City Marathon has grown from a race in Central Park with 55 finishers to the world's biggest and most popular marathon. Over

51,000 professional and amateur runners finished the race in 2016. Runners start in Staten Island and run the course through all five of the city's boroughs; Staten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, the Bronx and Manhattan, now concluding in the iconic park. A run of 26.2 total miles.

Men Winners

1st Place: Geoffrey Kamworor (Time: 2:10:53) Kenya

2nd: Wilson Kipsang (Time: 2:10:56) Kenya

3rd: Lelisa Desisa (Time: 2:11:32) Ethiopia

4th: Lemi Berhanu (Time: 2:11:52) Ethiopia

5th: Tadesse Abraham (Time: 2:12:01) Switzerland

Women Winners

1st Place: Shalane Flanagan (Time: 2:26:53) United States

2nd: Mary Keitany (Time: 2:27:54) Kenya

3rd: Mamitu Daska (Time: 2:28:08) United States

4th: Edna Kiplagat (Time: 2:29:36) Kenya

5th: Allie Kieffer (Time: 2:29:39) United States

Wheelchair - Men Winners

1st Place: Marcel Hug (Time: 1:37:21) Switzerland

2nd: John Charles Smith (Time: 1:39:40) United Kingdom

3rd: Sho Watanabe (Time: 1:39:51) Japan

4th: Ernst Van Dyk (Time: 1:39:56) South Africa

5th: Masazumi Soejima (Time: 1:39:58) Japan

Wheelchair - Women Winners

1st Place: Manuela Schar (Time: 1:48:09) Switzerland

2nd: Tatyana McFadden (Time: 1:51:02) United States

3rd: Amanda McGrory (Time: 1:53:11) United States

4th: Lihong Zou (Time: 2:03:20) China

5th: Madison De Rozario (Time: 2:04:28) Australia

Handcycle Category - Men Winners

1st Place: Ludovic Narce (Time: 1:28:48) France

2nd: Lars Hoffmann (Time: 1:28:57) Germany

3rd: Fabio Faborges (Time: 1:29:15) Brazil

4th: Vicente Yanguez (Time: 1:33:06) Spain

5th: Matthew Robinson (Time: 1:34:19) United States

Handcycle Category - Women Winners

1st Place: Tiffiney Perry (Time: 1:54:09) New Zealand

2nd: Devann Murphy (Time: 2:20:59) United States

3rd: Beth Sanden (Time: 2:43:02) United States

4th: Jessica Hayon (Time: 2:58:36) United States

5th: Danielle Watson (Time: 3:04:24) United States