Assemblyman Keith Wright to serve as co-chair of State Democratic Party (37990)

Harlem’s own Assemblyman Keith Wright is taking on a key leadership role in the New York State Democratic Party. He was recently nominated by Gov. Andrew Cuomo as the co-chair of the State Democratic Committee. Syracuse Mayor Stephanie Miner is serving alongside him; both were submitted for consideration by the full committee.

“Mayor Miner and Assemblyman Wright are outstanding leaders both for our party and our state. They have been dedicated community leaders and champions of the key missions of the Democratic Party,” Cuomo said. “I thank them for agreeing to serve in these critical positions and look forward to working with them in their new roles.”

In a recent interview with the AmNews, Wright said he was “humbled” by the appointment and has his sights set on the future of the party in the state.

“I’m proud that the governor has entrusted his Democratic Party to me and Mayor Miner. I look forward to many Democratic victories throughout the state of New York. We will leave no stone unturned and we can achieve Democratic victory.”

If elected, Wright will be responsible for making sure Democrats get elected to various seats across the state, including the U.S. Senate. He will also monitor the actions of elected officials, making sure they stay in tune with the Democratic philosophy.

“I hope to bring some diversity,” he added. “It’s something that is near and dear to every elected official to the state of New York.”

Right now, however, Wright said one of his key points of focus is the re-election of Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand and President Barack Obama.

Wright will be formally presented for election at the June 5 meeting of the State Committee. Additionally, an amendment to the by-laws shall be proposed at the State Committee meeting in Albany in order to formally allow him and Miner to serve.

Representing the 70th District in Harlem in the New York State Assembly, Wright was first elected in 1992. Currently, in the Assembly he serves as chairman of the Standing Committee on Social Services, chairman of the Subcommittee on Public Housing and chairman of the Subcommittee of Equal Economic Opportunity and Human Rights.