The Brooklyn Skyhawks' 36th annual football banquet (39963)

The Brooklyn Skyhawks hosted their 36th annual football banquet on Friday, Feb. 15 at Prospect Hall in Brooklyn. The event hosted the Brooklyn Skyhawks’ five different teams, with members ranging from 7 to 16 years of age. The Hawks (Peanuts), Junior Pee Wees, Pee Wees, Bantams and Intermediates (Intros) were all on hand to receive trophies for winning seasons and awards for their play.

The Brooklyn Skyhawks were founded by James Harris in 1977. His goal was to teach participants discipline and respect. He wanted to teach the fundamentals of football and to play the game in a safe manner and to teach sportsmanship, no matter one’s race or national origin.

The Skyhawks started with two teams originally. As of 2013, the Skyhawks have made over 68 championship appearances and have had 9,000 kids come through their organization.

The Skyhawks’ 2013 banquet celebrated championship appearances from all five divisional teams for the first time. Four of the five teams raised the championship trophy last December. For the first time, the Hawks (Peanuts) won three championships in a row. The Junior Pee Wee division completed two back-to-back undefeated championship seasons.

The Pee Wee division won their first championship in two years. The Bantams also accomplished back-to-back undefeated seasons.

During the banquet, players from each team were awarded their championship trophy. Players were also given awards for their play on the field, including Most Valuable Player awards, Offensive Player of the Year awards and Defensive Player of the Year awards. Awards were also given out to players showing good sportsmanship qualities for their dedication to the team and organization. The Skyhawks hit the field in April as they look to continue their success.