Mayor Bill de Blasio and Police Commissioner Bill Bratton appointed four new members, including a former civil rights lawyer, a law professor and former U.S. attorney, a retired NYPD sergeant and a retired transit police chief to sit on the Civilian Complaint Review Board.

The major shake-up of the city’s independent police watchdog 13-member board comes after de Blasio named Richard Emery, a civil rights attorney, as the new CCRB chair in mid-July. The new appointees, Deborah Archer, Bennett Capers, Lindsay Eason and Michael O’Connor, will replace four former board members.

Archer is the associate dean for academic affairs at New York Law School. She previously served as the assistant counsel at the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund. Cappers is a law professor at Brooklyn Law School and a former U.S. attorney in the Southern District of New York. In September 2013, U.S. District Judge Shira Scheindlin named Capers as the chair of her 13-member Academic Advisory Council to help a court-appointed monitor establish reforms for the NYPD’s controversial stop-and-frisk policy, which Scheindlin ruled unconstitutional. Both were designated by de Blasio.

Eason, a former New York City sheriff, retired as a sergeant with the NYPD’s intelligence division after serving for 23 years. Bratton appointed him and O’Connor, who is the president of a consulting company. O’Connor served as the chief of public safety in the Office of Emergency Management for the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey as well as chief of the transit police.

In a joint statement last Wednesday, de Blasio and Bratton said the city deserves a “strong and independent organization to investigate allegations of police misconduct.”

“These four appointees will help us move toward our goal of building a more respectful relationship between police and the communities they serve each day.”

Archer and Capers are the mayor’s second and third designees to the board, and Eason and O’Connor are Bratton’s first and second. City law mandates the mayor to appoint five members. The City Council and police commissioner designate five and three members, respectively.