A solid person stands on the weight of their “word,” and true to that, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences re-elected Cheryl Boone Isaacs as president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Boone Isaacs is beginning her third term as president and her 23rd year as a governor representing the public relations branch.

In truth, one leads by example, and when Bill C. Myers and I interviewed Isaacs at the beginning of her term, she shared her vision of “inclusion and the Academy,” and this was been one of the most interesting and exciting developments within the organization.

Hollywood is about business, and understanding and embracing inclusion is good for the bottom line. On top of her other duties, Boone Isaacs currently heads CBI Enterprises, where she consults on film marketing efforts, and starting this September, she will be an adjunct professor at Chapman University’s Dodge College of Film and Media Arts.

Keeping on the subject of inclusion, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has named Lorenza Mu oz as its managing director of membership and awards. Beginning Sept. 3, Munoz will oversee the numerous activities and initiatives involving the organization’s nearly 7,000 filmmakers and artists, including global membership outreach and engagement events, and Academy Awards submissions, rules and voting. She will report to Academy CEO Dawn Hudson.

“We are thrilled to welcome Lorenza to our leadership team,” said Hudson. “She brings a deep passion for movies, extensive knowledge of our film industry and years of effectively working with different constituencies and community groups. Lorenza will play a key role in our efforts to develop a more internationally connected membership and to advance the global mission of this organization.”

Munoz brings to the role two decades of experience in public relations, community outreach, public policy and journalism, most recently serving as press and policy deputy for Los Angeles County Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas, where she oversaw media coverage, policy strategy and community outreach.

In other Academy news, the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted to present Honorary Awards to Spike Lee and Gena Rowlands and to award the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Debbie Reynolds. All three awards will be presented at the Academy’s seventh annual Governors Awards Saturday, Nov. 14.

“The Board is proud to recognize our honorees’ remarkable contributions at this year’s Governors Awards,” said Boone Isaacs. “We’ll be celebrating their achievements with the knowledge that the work they have accomplished—with passion, dedication and a desire to make a positive difference—will also enrich future generations.”

Lee is a champion of independent film and an inspiration to young filmmakers. In 1989, he earned an Oscar nomination for Best Original Screenplay.

Interesting fact, Lee made an auspicious debut with his NYU thesis film, “Joe’s Bed-Stuy Barbershop: We Cut Heads,” which won a Student Academy Award in 1983.

As the new generation of filmmakers step to the plate, their growing abilities are recognized and awarded, and the Academy has voted 15 students as winners of the 42nd Student Academy Awards competition.

The power of inclusion is that it vibrates and pulls talent this new direction has seen the Academy receiving a record number of entries this year—1,686 films from 282 domestic and 93 international colleges and universities—which were voted upon by a record number of Academy members. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 47 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. Previous winners include Trey Parker, and Robert Zemeckis.

Representing a New York institution is “Zoe” by ChiHyun Lee from the School of Visual Arts, New York under the Alternative category.

Students will arrive in Los Angeles for a week of industry activities that will culminate in the awards ceremony Thursday, Sept. 17 at 7:30 p.m. at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The medal placements—gold, silver and bronze—in the five award categories will be announced at the ceremony.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to provide a platform for emerging global talent by creating opportunities within the industry to showcase their work.