The U.S Department of Commerce’s Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) is seeking nominations of exceptional minority entrepreneurs and organizations that have demonstrated leadership and commitment in advancing the minority business community in 2014.

The agency hosts this annual program to recognize outstanding achievements by minorities in the business world.

“The MED Week awards were created to recognize individuals and firms who exemplify entrepreneurial innovation and a commitment to creating jobs while helping our nation remain competitive in the global economy,” said Alejandra Castillo, MBDA Acting National Director.

Castillo anticipates a great number of nominations considering there are nearly six million minority-owned businesses throughout the United States and MBDA is the only Federal agency dedicated to the growth and global competitiveness of U.S. minority-owned businesses.

Award categories are as following:

For minority-owned firms

  • Minority Construction Firm of the Year
  • Minority Export Firm of the Year
  • Minority Manufacturing Firm of the Year
  • Minority Retail Energy Firm of the Year

For those who excel in minority business development.

  • Access to Capital Award
  • Advocate of the Year
  • Distinguished Supplier Diversity Award
  • Media Award

For individuals

  • Abe Venable Legacy Award for Lifetime Achievement which recognizes an individual who has played an essential role in the progress of minority business development over the course of his/her life.
  • Ronald H. Brown Leadership Award which recognizes individuals who have achieved significant results in expanding minority business enterprises and demonstrated exceptional leadership in the public or private sector.

Nominations must be postmarked by March 28, 2014.

For more information on the categories, sub-categories and general submission instructions, visit