NAACP Award (231773)
Credit: Contributed

Ava DuVernay taking home the Entertainer of the Year Award was perhaps the surprise of the night during the 49th NAACP Image Awards from the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. The two-hour live special, hosted by Anthony Anderson, opened strong with a show of support of #TIMESUP, featuring Angela Robinson, Kerry Washington, Jurnee Smollett-Bell, Laverne Cox, Lena Waithe and Tracee Ellis Ross.

As the acknowledged premiere multicultural award ceremony, a two-hour broadcast couldn’t capture the multiple of plaudits in the fields of television, music, literature and film. To remedy that, the bulk of the year’s cream of the crop were recognized during a gala dinner the night before the TV One broadcast.

Following are the winners of the 49th NAACP Image Awards in the non-televised categories:


Outstanding Supporting Actor

in a Comedy Series

Jay Ellis—“Insecure” (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actress

in a Comedy Series

Marsai Martin—“black-ish” (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actor

in a Drama Series

Joe Morton—“Scandal” (ABC)

Outstanding Supporting Actress

in a Drama Series

Naturi Naughton—“Power” (Starz)

Outstanding Television Movie,

Limited—Series or Dramatic Special

“The New Edition Story “ (BET)

Outstanding Actor in a Television Movie,

Limited-Series or Dramatic Special

Idris Elba—“Guerrilla” (Showtime)

Outstanding Actress in a Television

Movie, Limited Series or Dramatic Special

Queen Latifah—“Flint” (Lifetime)

Outstanding News/Information—

(Series or Special)

“Unsung” (TV One)

Outstanding Talk Series

“The Real” (Syndicated)

Outstanding Reality Program/Reality

Competition Series

“The Manns” (TV One)

Outstanding Variety or Game Show—

(Series or Special)

“Lip Sync Battle” (Spike)

Outstanding Children’s Program

“Doc McStuffins” (Disney Junior)

Outstanding Performance by a Youth

(Series, Special, Television Movie or

Limited Series)

Caleb McLaughlin—“Stranger

Things” (Netflix)

Outstanding Host in a Talk or News/

Information (Series or Special)—

Individual or Ensemble

Roland Martin—“News One Now”

(TV One)

Outstanding Host in a Reality/

Reality Competition, Game Show or

Variety (Series or Special)—

Individual or Ensemble

LL Cool J—“Lip Sync Battle” (Spike)


Outstanding New Artist

SZA (RCA Records/Top Dawg


Outstanding Male Artist

Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Female Artist

Mary J. Blige (Capitol Records)

Outstanding Duo, Group or


Kendrick Lamar feat. Rihanna


Outstanding Jazz Album 

“Petite Afrique”—Somi (Sony


Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album

(Traditional or Contemporary)

“Greenleaf Soundtrack Volume 2”—

Greenleaf Soundtrack

(RCA Inspiration)

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

“That’s What I Like”—Bruno Mars

(Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Song – Traditional

“That’s What I Like”—Bruno Mars

(Atlantic Records)

Outstanding Album

“DAMN.”—Kendrick Lamar (TDE/


Outstanding Song – Contemporary

“HUMBLE.”—Kendrick Lamar



Outstanding Literary Work—Fiction  

“The Annotated African-American

Folktales”—Henry Louis Gates Jr.

(Editor), Maria Tatar (Editor),

(Liveright Publishing Corporation)

Outstanding Literary Work—Non-Fiction

“Defining Moments in Black

History: Reading Between the

Lies”—Dick Gregory (Author),

(HarperCollins Publishers)

Outstanding Literary Work—Debut Author

“No One Is Coming to Save Us”—

Stephanie Powell Watts (Author),

(HarperCollins Publishers)

Outstanding Literary Work—


“Becoming Ms. Burton—From

Prison to Recovery to Leading the

Fight for Incarcerated Women”—

Susan Burton (Author), Cari Lynn

(Author), Michelle Alexander (Fore

word), (The New Press)

Outstanding Literary Work—Instructional 

“The Awakened Woman:

Remembering & Reigniting our

Sacred Dreams”—Dr. Tererai Trent

(Author), Oprah Winfrey (Fore

word), (Simon & Schuster)

Outstanding Literary Work—Poetry

“Incendiary Art: Poems”—Patricia

Smith (Author), (TriQuarterly

Books/Northwestern University Press)

Outstanding Literary Work—Children

“Little Leaders: Bold Women

in Black History “—Vashti

Harrison (Author), (Hachette

Book Group)

Outstanding Literary Work—


“Clayton Byrd Goes Under

ground”—Rita Williams-Garcia,

(Author), Frank Morrison

(Illustrator), (Amistad/Harper

Collins Publishers)

Motion Picture

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a

Motion Picture

Idris Elba—“Thor: Ragnarok”

(Marvel Studios)

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a

Motion Picture

Tiffany Haddish—“Girls Trip”

(Universal Pictures)

Outstanding Independent Motion


“Detroit” (Annapurna Pictures)


Outstanding Documentary (Film)

“STEP” (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Outstanding Documentary


“The 44th President: In His Own

Words” (History)


Outstanding Writing in a

Comedy Series

Janine Barrois —“Claws,”

“Batsh*t” (TNT)

Outstanding Writing in a

Dramatic Series

Gina Prince-Bythewood—“Shots

Fired,” “Hour One: Pilot” (Fox)

Outstanding Writing in a Television

Movie or Special  

Abdul Williams—“The New

Edition Story, Part 2” (BET)

Outstanding Writing in a Motion Picture

Jordan Peele—“Get Out”

(Universal Pictures)


Outstanding Directing in a

Comedy Series

Anton Cropper—“black-ish,”

“Juneteenth” (ABC)

Outstanding Directing in a

Dramatic Series

Carl Franklin—“13 Reasons

Why,” Tape 5, Side B (Netflix)

Outstanding Directing in a

Television Movie or Special

Allen Hughes—“The Defiant

Ones” (HBO)

Outstanding Directing in a

Motion Picture

Jordan Peele—“Get Out”

(Universal Pictures)


Outstanding Character Voice-Over


Tiffany Haddish— “Legends of

Chamberlain Heights” (Comedy


Tip of the hat to the winners. Next up, the Trumpet Awards. Rest in power to music great Walter Hawkins and Basketball Hall of Famer Joseph Henry “Jo-Jo” White. Thanks for the legacies. Over and Out, holla next week. Til then, enjoy the nightlife.