Got kinda spoiled after getting a home game last year at the Apollo Theater. This year, it was back to normal, so we had to leave the warmth of New York City and brave the elements for that brisk Vegas temperature (no cap, it was warmer here!!) for the 2022 Soul Train Awards. While the award winners listing can’t be revealed, know that Beyoncé and Mary J. Blige lead Soul Train Awards 2022 nominations with an impressive seven nods. Ari Lennox garnered the second-highest number of nods with six nominations. Lizzo and Chris Brown are tied at five nods each, followed by Burna Boy, Muni Long, and Steve Lacy with four nods. Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic, PJ Morton, and Tems each garnered 3 nominations.  

Now we can run and tell who the recipients for their years of toil in the game were. First up are “Kandi” Burruss-Tucker, Tameka “Tiny” Harris, Tamika Scott, and LaTocha Scott of legendary, multiplatinum-selling R&B supergroup Xscape who collectively received the ‘Lady of Soul’ honor at the feel-good party of the year. Xscape emerged on the scene in the ’90s with a sound of their own along with the fire material to match. With hit songs like “Just Kickin’ It,” “Understanding,” and “The Arms of the One Who Loves You,” the powerhouse group took the industry by storm with their amazing harmonies and industry-defining sounds. 

In a statement released prior to the taping, the ladies of Xscape said, “Given how important Soul Train is to all of us, we’re so thankful to be honored with the ‘Lady of Soul’ Award this year. It’s going to be an amazing night, and we can’t wait to see you all there.”

 “Xscape is one of the most notable R&B supergroups of all time. Their powerful vocal harmonies laid the foundation for ’90s R&B and some of today’s chart-topping hits,” said Connie Orlando, EVP Specials, Music Programming & Music Strategy. “Their sound is undeniably unique and masterful. We look forward to honoring these multi-talented artists collectively on R&B’s biggest stage, Soul Train Awards.”

The other cat out of the bag announced honoree is for keepers of the funk, Morris Day & The Time who will receive their flowers with the ‘Legend’ award. World-class musician, composer, and actor Morris Day is best known for his role as lead singer of the legendary band Morris Day & The Time; the original incarnation of the group features recent Rock & Roll honorees Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis as well as Jesse Johnson, Jerome Benton, Jellybean Johnson, and Monte Moir. Day also saw success as a hit-making solo artist with songs like “Oak Tree” and the No. 1 smash on the U.S. R&B hits chart “Fishnets.” 

“They say the way you start is the way you finish, and being that I’m retiring end of next year, it’s only fitting that I return to the place that helped start it all,” said Day. “Our first major TV appearance was in 1981 on Soul Train with Don Cornelius. And 41 years later, to be honored with the Soul Train Awards Legend Award is what we call full circle. Truly amazing!”

Connie Orlando chimes, “Morris Day & The Time create and perform timeless, feel-good music for fans to enjoy all over the world. Their unique sound, style, and artistry continue to serve as inspiration to music lovers and recording artists today. We can’t wait to get the Soul Train Awards party started with our star-studded slate of soulful artists and can’t-miss moments.”

The other staple of the broadcast will feature Boogie Down Bronxian D Nice and vocalist Alex Vaughn, Durand Bernarr, Muni Long and Tasha Cobbs Leonard who blend harmonies for this year’s Soul Cypher. 

Hosted by award-winning comedian and actor Deon Cole, the Soul Train Awards 2022 premieres Saturday, Nov. 26 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on BET, BET HER, Logo, MTV2, and VH1. The “Soul Train Awards Red Carpet Special” pre-show will air at 7 p.m. ET/PT, with hosts Tank covering the Main Stage, Letoya Luckett on the Correspondent Stage, and Novi Brown (“Tyler Perry’s Sistas”) in the Walmart Lounge.

Over and out. Homeward bound. Gotta catch that Valerie Simpson & Friends sing Ashford & Simpson show at Sony Hall on Friday, Nov. 18. 

Tickets are available at the box office (235 W 46th St.) or 

General admission: $45 advance / $55 day of show

First served VIP reserved seating: $79.50 advance / $90 day of show (includes guaranteed seating in designated section)

Holla next week, til then enjoy the nightlife. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *