April 24, 2012 Besieged postal clerks, motor vehicle operators, and maintenance workers in Manhattan, the Bronx, and two processing facilities in New Jersey have overwhelmingly elected Jonathan Smith and the United For Change Slate in a hotly contested election.

Clarice Torrence, three-term incumbent was ousted in a strong rebuke by the membership of the New York Metro local, the largest in the American Postal Workers Union. Torrence who had won three previous elections by small margins, was defeated by Jonathan Smith and his slate. Smith had committed to run on the issues that mattered to members and his platform for change in the local. Despite unprecedented personal attacks by Torrence and her supporters, Smith held firm to his commitment to run a campaign that postal workers could be proud of.

Jonathan Smith received 1,167 votes; Clarice Torrence running on the Power to the Workers slate, 676 votes; Bruce Webster of the Voice of the Members Slate, 375 votes; and Betty Reid running as an independent presidential candidate, 30.

Jonathan Smith; Tiffany Foster; Daniel Zachman, Jr.; Sharon Tyrrell; and Kevin Walsh have been elected New York Metro Area Postal Union full-time officers. The induction of the new officers will take place at the general membership meeting on Wednesday, May 16, 2012.