Frank Comito (122474)

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico (Feb. 12)—Respected hotel association executive Frank Comito is the new head of the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association, replacing Jeff Vasser, who left office at the end of December.

Representing 32 national hotel associations across the region, Comito assumes the role as the new CEO and director general next month. As CEO, Comito will work to raise CHTA’s profile as a leader for the Caribbean hospitality industry and help develop a strategic plan for the association, which comprises more than 600 hotels and 300 allied members.

“Frank Comito brings a wealth of knowledge and insight to CHTA, most recently as executive vice president of the Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association and other tourism-related organizations,” said the St. Maarten-based Emil Lee, CHTA’s president.

“Besides contributing towards the development of the Bahamas’ hotel and tourism industries, he helped develop the landscape for individual Caribbean hotel associations during his volunteer presidency of the Caribbean Society of Hotel Association Executives. We are confident that CHTA will continue to grow and gain influence as the voice for the Caribbean hospitality industry under Frank’s leadership.”

Comito recently served as executive vice president of the Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association, a position he held for more than 10 years. He was responsible for guiding and managing the organization’s activities in advocacy, business development, workforce improvement and organizational development.

Comito brings to his new role more than 30 years of experience in economic development, organization management, government affairs, project management, workforce development, research and analysis, and providing business and investor support in the Bahamas, U.S. Virgin Islands, United States and the Caribbean.

The CHTA previously recognized Comito as an Association Executive of the Year in 2006 for his stewardship of the Bahamas Hotel and Tourism Association. He also received the 2013 award from the International Society of Hotel Association Executives for the most outstanding education and training initiatives by a hotel association.