(L-R) Honorees Usher, Phylicia Rashad, Johnnetta B. Cole, Kanye West and John W. Thompson pose onstage during "The BET Honors" 2015 at Warner Theatre on January 24, 2015 in Washington, DC. (123210)
Credit: Bennett Raglin

BET Networks returns with the eighth annual “The BET HONORS” to pay tribute to the contributions of legendary African Americans in the areas of education, theater, business and technology, music and innovation.

Comedian Wayne Brady hosts the show for the second year, honoring Tony Award-winning actress Phylicia Rashad (Theatrical Award), 21-time Grammy Award-winning entrepreneur Kanye West (Visionary Award), multi-platinum recording star Usher (Musical Arts Award), Dr. Johnetta Betsch Cole (Education Award), and Chairman of Microsoft, John W. Thompson (Business & Technology Award). “The BET Honors” premieres Monday, February 23 at 9 pm/ET.

The show opens with an old-school hip hop performance by Wayne Brady. The star-studded roster of performers includes Ne-Yo, K. Michelle, Mary J. Blige, Trey Songz, Patti LaBelle and Charlie Wilson who will be joined on stage by Kanye West for an impromptu performance. Keisha Knight Pulliam, Anthony Anderson, Damon Dash, Bobby Brown, Glynn Turman and Diahann Carroll are presenting the awards to the honorees.

Proceeds from the private sale of “THE BET HONORS” will benefit the National Cares Mentoring Program, an organization that helps transform the lives of Black children by inspiring, recruiting, and mobilizing masses of caring Black men and women to mentor and nourish, challenge and champion them.