NAACP Image Awards (61740)
Credit: NAACP Image Awards website

It’s time for our annual Hollywood Road Trip, which begins with the 48th NAACP Image Awards, which celebrate the best accomplishments of people of color in the fields of television, music, literature and film, and also honors individuals or groups who promote social justice through creative endeavors.

 Co-hosted by Erica Ash and Deon Cole, the NAACP Image Awards has a star-studded red carpet with the very best attending, including Denzel Washington, Viola Davis, Holly Robinson Pete, Trevor Noah, Adrienne Bailon, Alfred Enoch, Anika Noni Rose, Anthony Sparks, Anthony Hemingway, Carl Seaton, Charles Murray, Chloe Bailey, Chris Nee, Courtney Kemp, Courtney B. Vance, Denzel Washington, Deon Cole, Donnie McClurkin, Erica Ash, Ford Riley, Gary Hines, Holly Robinson Pete, Hudson Yang, Issa Rae, Iyanla Vanzant, Jeffrey Wright, Joe Morton, Joy-Ann Reid, Jubba Seyyid, Jussie Smollett, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Kenya Barris, Kofi Siriboe, Larry Wilmore, LaToya Morgan, Lonnie Chavis, Loretta Devine, Lynn Whitfield, Mahershala Ali, Malachi Kirby, Mario Van Peebles, Marsai Martin, Mike O’Malley, Misha Green, Nate Parker, Naturi Naughton, Neil deGrasse Tyson, Paris Barclay, Roland S. Martin, RonReaco Lee, Serayah, Sharon Osbourne, Tamera Mowry, Tika Sumpter, Tina Campbell, Trevor Noah, Viola Davis and more. 

 One of the highlights is the NAACP Entertainer of the Year, a special honor that is bestowed upon an individual within the entertainment industry who has achieved notable success in multiple projects and mediums.

 As previously announced, LeBron James will be presented with the NAACP Jackie Robinson Sports Award, and Harvard Law professor Charles J. Ogletree Jr. will be honored with the NAACP Chairman’s Award.

 Reginald Hudlin and Phil Gurin are the executive producers. Co-executive producers are Kimmie H. Kim and Byron Phillips. Tony McCuin is the director and Robin Reinhardt is the talent producer.

 The 48th NAACP Image Awards will broadcast live on TV One Saturday, Feb. 11, 2017, at 9 p.m. Eastern time/8 p.m. Central time as a two-hour special hosted by Anthony Anderson. The 90-minute pre-show airs live from the red carpet, co-hosted by Erica Ash and Deon Cole at 7:30 p.m. Eastern/6:30 p.m. Central.