Kenya’s Albert Korir, the 2021 TCS New York City Marathon Professional Men’s Open Division champion Credit: Bill Moore photo

The 2022 TCS New York City Marathon, organized by the New York Road Runners, will take place this Sunday, Nov. 6, starting at the southwestern approach to the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge in Staten Island and ending 26.2 miles later at Tavern on the Green in Central Park in Manhattan. 

In addition to Staten Island and Manhattan, the course winds through Brooklyn, the Bronx and Queens, giving residents in all five boroughs an opportunity to come out and support the over 50,000 starters that will participate in the event. 

It will be the 51st time the Marathon has been held, beginning in 1970. Back then, runners circled Central Park, where the entire race was held. The Marathon has been canceled twice, in 2012 due to Hurricane Sandy and in 2020 resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. 

New York is the last battle of the six-city Abbott World Marathon Majors championship series, a points based competition that also includes the Tokyo, Boston, London, Berlin and Chicago marathons. There will be another stacked field in NYC going mile-for-mile in the professional men’s and women’s races, and the men’s and women’s wheelchair races.

On the men’s side, Kenya’s Albert Korir, last year’s New York winner, will be back to defend his title. The last man to take two straight in New York was Kenya’s Geoffrey Mutai, in 2011 and 2013. He could be pressed by last year’s runner-up, Mohamed El Aaraby of Morocco. 

Peres Jepchichir, the 2021 women’s champion, will not be able to try to make it back-to-back victories as she withdrew from this year’s race due to an injury. Kenya’s amazing Mary Keitany was the last woman to win at least two in a row, crossing the tape first in 2014, 2015 and 2016. She also won in 2018. Headlining the professional women will be Kenyan-Israeli runner Lonah Chemtai Salpeter, Hellen Obiri of Kenya and Ethiopia’s Gotytom Gebreslase.    

The Professional Wheelchair Division begins at 8 a.m., the Professional Women’s Open Division at 8:40 a.m. and the Professional Men’s Open Division at 9:05 a.m.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *